Monday, 12 November 2007

Bill Callahan - Woke on Whaleheart 2007

Woke on a Whaleheart was the first record released by Bill Callahan under his own name instead of his nom de plume, Smog. The arrangements of labelmate and former-Royal Trux vocalist and guitarist Neil Hagerty are featured on the album, and Callahan's band consists of vocalist Deani Pugh-Flemmings, guitarist Pete Denton, violinist Elizabeth Warren, percussionist Thor Harris, bassist Steve Bernal, and keyboard/lap steel player Howard Draper. The album was recorded by Jeremy Lemos, who previously recorded albums Rain on Lens and Supper for Callahan. The album's sound touches upon "gospel, tough pop and American Light Opera.

Released on April 24, 2007

1. From the Rivers to the Ocean
2. Footprints
3. Diamond Dancer
4. Sycamore
5. The Wheel
6. Honeymoon Child
7. Day8. Night
9. A Man Needs a Woman or a Man To Be a Man