Saturday, 1 March 2008

Trees - The Garden Of Jane Delawney 1970

Trees' first album, The Garden of Jane Delawney was released in the spring of 1970 on CBS (S 63837). Whilst nearly every song on the album appears to be a traditional folk song, this is actually only the case for about half of them, the others having been penned for the album by front-man Bias Boshell. The title track is a particular good example of his apparent talent for writing songs that sounded like they had existed for hundreds of years as folk songs. The band released their second and last album, On the Shore, later the same year. Shortly after, Trees disbanded due to little commercial success.

The Trees are recommended to everyone wanted to investigate the folkish side of progressive rock and its acoustic side.

Tracks:Actual folk songs are marked with an asterisk.
1. Nothing Special
2. The Great Silkie*
3. The Garden of Jane Delawney
4. Lady Margaret*
5. Glasgerion*
6. She Moved Through the Fair*
7. Road
8. Epitaph
9. Snail's Lament


Anonymous said...

Ah, great. I'm really interested in hearing something by this band, it's a pleasant surprise to find that your link still works after all this time. Cheers... Rob

Anonymous said...

Alas the link has now died, any chance of a reup?

Frank Fowler said...

Hi there Mad Hatter. I deeply appreciate your posts as i am a big fan!! However is there any chance this particular album could be reuploaded? The link happens to have died :(


Artificial Grass said...

I find it interesting to hear something about this band. I think I must more articles about them.